About SUPA

SUPA Committees

SUPA Advisory Board

  • Prof Malcolm Longair (University of Cambridge) Chair of SUPA IAC
  • Dr Allan Colquhoun (Leonardo UK)
  • Dr Stuart Fancey (SFC)
  • Dr Ana Gallardo (Scottish Enterprise)
  • Prof Helen Gleeson (University of Leeds)
  • Prof Ruth Gregory (Durham University)
  • Dr John Hand (EPSRC)
  • Prof David Miller (Stanford University)
  • Prof Ian Ritchie (Coppertop)


PHYESTA, founded in 2010, combines the Schools of Physics and Astronomy at the Universities of Edinburgh and St Andrews into a single world-class research centre. A common research vision with shared facilities and postgraduate training led to the first UK joint submission in physics to REF2014.


Strategy & Structure

Through a coherent approach to staffing strategy, research initiatives, graduate education, knowledge exchange, industry engagement and funding opportunities, physics research in Scotland has flourished with SUPA partner institutions proving to be attractive to top class researchers and the best graduate students from around the world. Collectively, SUPA forms the largest cluster of research power in physics in the UK.

About SUPA

SUPA is the Scottish Universities Physics Alliance, a strategic alliance of eight Physics Schools with a shared strategy for research with funding from the Scottish Funding Council (SFC). Our members are the Universities of Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Heriot-Watt, St Andrews, Strathclyde and West of Scotland.