About SUPA

SUPA is the Scottish Universities Physics Alliance, a strategic alliance of eight Physics Schools. Our members are the Universities of Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Heriot-Watt, St Andrews, Strathclyde and West of Scotland.
Map of Scotland with SUPA universities highlighted
Launched in 2004 with the aim of placing Scotland at the forefront of research in physics, SUPA has been highly successful in establishing Scotland as a recognised international leader in research and advanced post-graduate training.
SUPA is a community of over 1200 physicists (academics, research staff and post-graduate students) across Scotland.

Research Innovation Scotland

To overcome the grand challenges we face as a society, collaboration and co-ordination across the Scottish research and innovation landscape is paramount. Research Innovation Scotland (RIS) has been created by the research pools (including SUPA) in collaboration with Scotland's Innovation Centres and Interface.

Visit the RIS website to see cross-pool and multi-disciplinary activities, case studies and funding opportunities.