SUPA Committees

SUPA Advisory Board

  • Prof Malcolm Longair (University of Cambridge) Chair of SUPA IAC
  • Dr Eugene Arthurs (SPIE)
  • Dr Allan Colquhoun (Selex ES)
  • Dr Stuart Fancey (SFC)
  • Dr Ana Gallardo (Scottish Enterprise)
  • Prof Helen Gleeson (University of Leeds)
  • Prof Ruth Gregory (Durham University)
  • Prof Mike Gunn (University of Birmingham)
  • Dr John Hand (EPSRC)
  • Prof Walter Henning (Argonne National Laboratory)
  • Prof Rolf-Dieter Heuer (CERN)
  • Prof David Miller (Stanford University)
  • Prof Ian Ritchie (Coppertop)
  • Prof Anneila Sargent (Caltech)
  • Dr Colin Zimmerman (NNL)

Board of Directors

The SUPA Board of Directors (BoD) acts as the governance body for SUPA, and comprises Vice Principals, or their delegates, from each of the eight partners.

  • Aberdeen: Prof Celso Grebogi (
  • Dundee: Prof Tim Newman (
  • Edinburgh: Prof Richard Kenway (
  • Glasgow: Prof Chris Pearce (
  • Heriot-Watt: Prof Gareth Pender (
  • St. Andrews: Prof Derek Woollins (
  • Strathclyde: Prof Stephen McArthur (
  • UWS: Prof Ehsan Mesbahi (

Executive Committee

The SUPA Executive Committee (EC) comprises the heads of physics from each of the eight partners and the CEO, and oversees all SUPA activities, developing general policy and strategy for deploying relevant funds, and cooperation on REF preparations. The EC also resolves problems and reports formally to member institutions; each EC member is responsibility for supporting and implementing the SUPA strategy within their institutions.

  • Aberdeen: Antonio Politi (
  • Dundee: David Keeble (
  • Edinburgh: Arthur Trew (
  • Glasgow: Martin Hendry (
  • Heriot-Watt: Derryck Reid (
  • St. Andrews: Graham Turnbull (
  • Strathclyde: Erling Riis (
  • UWS: Desmond Gibson (

Graduate School Committee

The SUPA Graduate School Committee (GSC) oversees the operation off the SUPA Graduate School in relation to prize studentships, video-linked courses, induction, retreats, career events, summer schools, industry placements, support for physics based doctoral training centres. SUPA CEO assumes the role of Director of the Graduate School; GS and KE Coordinators assist the CEO in fulfilling the aims and objectives of the strategy.